Funding Details

To add this grant to your saved grant list, click the "add to my grants" button below.  You will be able to remove it from your saved grants list at any time.

AASA National Superintendent of the Year


Sponsored by AASA The School Superintendents Association, Aramark, and VALIC

Contact:Bernadine Futrell, PhD, Director of Awards and Collaborations
AASA–The School Superintendents Association
1615 Duke St.
Alexandria, VA 22314

Phone: 703.875.0717
Description:The AASA National Superintendent of the Year program, sponsored by AASA–The School Superintendents Association, Aramark, and VALIC, pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead the nation’s public schools. Any superintendent, chancellor, or top leader of a school system in the United States who plans to continue in the profession may be nominated.

This program is designed to recognize the outstanding leadership of active, front-line superintendents. It is not recognition of service at retirement or a program to reward current state or national leaders.

Each candidate is judged on the following criteria:
• Leadership for Learning: creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.
• Communication: strength in both personal and organizational communication.
• Professionalism: constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
• Community Involvement: active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues.

To be eligible for National Superintendent of the Year, an applicant must first be selected as a State Superintendent of the Year by the state association of school administrators. Each applicant must contact his or her state association to inquire about the selection process and application deadlines as timelines vary from state to state.
Eligibility:Public, Charter
Award(s):Awards vary by state.
Deadline(s):Deadlines vary by state association. State winners must be selected by November 1, 2017.
Focus:General Education, Professional Development
Grade Level(s):Adult
forward this grant